Coconut Rough MkII

A while ago I started making my own chocolate because almost everything you buy in the store is loaded with sugar!  It was a hit and I’ve been making and enjoying it for years now.

Last night I ran out of the last batch and decided I needed more right away!  All I had was the chocolate and protein powder and given that it was about -25C outside a trip to the store was out of the question.  So there I stood in my pj’s, staring into the pantry searching for inspiration.

Finally I spotted the jar of coconut manna I bought a few months ago.  I had put a teaspoon or two in the last batch of chocolate but the jar had stayed shut since.  People say you can just eat teaspoons of it, but to be completely honest I only really like coconut with chocolate.  So I figured I’d make a purely coconut and chocolate batch and it was absolutely divine!

Coconut Rough

To make a batch yourself you’ll need

  • 125g of 100% bakers chocolate
  • 2 generous tablespoons of coconut manna
  • 1 cup of shredded coconut
  • your preferred sweetener to taste (it should be just enough to take the bitterness from the chocolate)
  • tiny pinch of salt

Preheat your oven to 350F (175C).  Toast the coconut on a tray lined with baking paper for about 5 minutes, watching it carefully as coconut burns easily.  Melt the chocolate and coconut manna in a bain maire and once melted add your sweetener and salt.

Mix the coconut into the chocolate mixture and then spoon into icecube trays or pour onto a tray lined with baking paper and place in the freezer to set.  (The fridge would work but you’d have to wait longer).  Once the chocolate has hardened pop the out of the icecube tray or smash up your slab of chocolate and enjoy.

I prefer to store mine in the freezer because I like my chocolate super cold, but I imagine it would be fine in the fridge too.

Edit:  You can make your own coconut butter (aka coconut manna) by blitzing some dried unsweetened coconut in your vitamix or food processor until smooth!

Leave a Reply

