Chicken and Asparagus

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but for the last few months we’ve been having a low-carb dinner party on Sunday nights – it’s always yummy but last night was exceptional!

My husband cooked because he was less than impressed with my poor presentation skills – and then I forgot to take a photo until I went to heat up the left overs today – oops!

This post is not really a recipe but more like an idea for a meal that you can make to your preferences.

We served four adults and I had enough for a big lunch today.  We used

  • 3 chicken breasts, beaten flat
  • 6 chicken thighs
  • 12 asparagus
  • 1 cup of chicken stock

Wrap the chicken around the asparagus and use toothpicks to secure them.  Brown them in a hot pan and then and place them in an oven proof dish and poured in the chicken stock.  We used a separate dish for the breast pieces and the thighs because they needed different cooking times.  So the oven was pre-heated to 360F and the breasts went in for 40 mins and the thighs for 30.

We served with sliced and sauteed mushrooms and sauteed sugar snap peas with fresh baby spinach and cherry tomatoes.

But!  what made this dish exceptional was the homemade hollandaise sauce made with farm fresh eggs and grass fed butter – Erik just knows how to make this – but you can find a bunch of different recipes online.  I know he whipped 3 egg yokes and then incorporated the butter and lemon juice into that.  I saw the cayenne out too but didn’t see the measurements.  Like I said, it’s probably best to just make the one you’re comfortable with and the pour it all over this fabulous dish!

Such a shame that I forgot to get a pretty picture! 20140310_113109[1]

Leave a Reply

