Meatballs

These are a current favourite in our house.  I make them at least once a week and am asked for them more often by my 6 year old!  They are super easy to make provided you don’t mind getting your hands a bit dirty!  This recipe makes enough for 6 adults and 2 kids and I usually serve it with steamed green beans, broccoli and cauli.

So for the meatballs you need:

  • 1.2kgs ground beef (2.6lbs)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup flaxseed meal (ground up flax seed)
  • 1 TBSP Italian herbs
  • pinch of salt

20140303_131611Mix all of the ingredients well.  I use my hands, but I suppose you could use a spoon.  There’s no point trying to keep your hands clean because you have to roll them anyway.

Roll them into equal sized balls and put into an oven proof dish.  Put them in the oven at 350F for 20 mins.

20140303_131909 While they’re in the oven you can make the sauce I made for the zucchini thingies.  Or you can just fry up a diced onion, some garlic and some italian herbs and stir in a 400g tin of tomatoes.  Pour the 20140303_132146sauce over the meatballs (after the 20 mins they’ve had to bake), cover with cheese and return to the oven for another 10 mins or until the cheese has melted nicely!

 

As you may have noticed I’m not gunning for any awards for best photography in a cooking blog.  My focus is on sharing recipes that can be made relatively quickly and easily.  They are low-carb and grain-free and made with real food.  I’m taking photos of the food I make for my family, while I cook it and just before I serve it (and in this case after – because the ravenous hordes descended before I got a chance this time!

I like to think that I’m being nice, because this way, with minimal effort, your version of these dishes can look better than they do in the picture 😀

I don’t care what it looked like – it was delish!

20140303_184116

Leave a Reply

